There Is an Art to Isolation: Here’s a Guide to Staying Centered

How the Chinese tradition of confinement inspired my shelter-in-place self-care

Amber Gibson
ZORA

--

A photo of an Asian woman watering plants on her windowsill at home.
Photo: LOUISE BEAUMONT/Getty Images

InIn Chinese culture, there’s an ancient tradition of postpartum confinement, or 坐月子 (zuo yue zi) in Mandarin. The literal translation is “sitting the month” and refers to how, following childbirth, a new mother will rest at home for one full month while following a strict diet and rituals (like avoiding cold air and not bathing) to help the body heal and recuperate from the arduous labor.

I’m Chinese American and when I was born, my grandmother came from Taiwan to Chicago to help take care of me and nurse my mom through a more relaxed modern adaptation of confinement. My mom didn’t wash her hair for a week and ate lots of chicken soup with sesame oil and pork liver soup with ginger, both nourishing “yang” foods to bring warmth to the body. When I cried at night, it was my grandmother who would rock me back to sleep in her rocking chair, letting my mom rest.

Just a couple days into my self-quarantine at my parents’ suburban home, I joked that this felt like Chinese confinement, only I didn’t even have to give birth to qualify. Because of the social isolation due to Covid-19, I desperately needed to find a silver lining by treating this time as an…

--

--

Amber Gibson
ZORA
Writer for

Journalist. Flâneuse. Champagne lover. Forbes columnist covering luxury travel, food & wine. http://instagram.com/amberyv/