Kayla at New York Comic Con on 6 September. Photography by Jeenah Moon

Yes, Critical Black Joy Exists at Comic-Con

Black cosplayers speak out on cultural appropriation and the gift of being seen

Amari Boyd
ZORA
Published in
7 min readOct 14, 2019

--

UpUp until 2015 I always thought New York Comic Con (NYCC) was exclusively for White men obsessed with Dungeons & Dragons. Therefore, when I hesitantly accepted my friend’s invitation to the popular convention, I expected the atmosphere to look like the opening scene of Stranger Things. I was partially correct when we entered the overzealous and overwhelmingly White crowd, but was surprised when my petite Puerto Rican friend from high school confidently steered me through. She translated gaming terminology, explained the nuances of various collectible items and comic book plots, and instructed me to take her picture with her favorite cosplayers and pop culture replicas.

It was a crash course in a distinct, complicated, and surprisingly diverse geek culture that was completely unknown to me. Four years and two NYCCs later, this year I’m in cosplay as Ariel from Disney’s The Little Mermaid taking pictures with more Black cosplayers, writers, and other creatives experiencing a type of Black joy my 13-year-old self longed to have with people who looked like me.

--

--

Amari Boyd
ZORA
Writer for

Social Justice Education PhD candidate, dialogue facilitator and diversity education trainer. I write for/about Black women in higher ed, facilitation &dialogue