Why My Stating My Dating Preference Chafes People

Vena Moore
ZORA
Published in
4 min readMay 13, 2023

--

We need to unpack this.

Photo by Austin Wilcox on Unsplash

I’ve received some interesting responses to my last piece. Unfortunately, I don’t mean that in a good way. I knew a piece with a title like, “Why I Won’t Date A Bus Driver” might be considered clickbait by some people and figured I’d get pushback. Those expectations were met. Now, rather than respond to those comments individually and have them get buried, I’m taking the time to address them here.

Why The Statement “You Should Have Chosen Better” Is Problematic

In my last piece, I described some of my negative experiences with some of the men I dated in the past who were in a lower tax bracket and had less education than me. As if on cue, one of the comments I received was:

“You should have chosen better.”

It’s irritating that whenever women speak about negative aspects of their relationships with men, some people chime in with the phrase that they should have chosen better. That statement is dismissive as well as judgmental because it assumes that women should have a crystal ball to see into the future so we could avoid problematic men. Despite what some men believe, women don’t have clairvoyance.

--

--

Vena Moore
ZORA
Writer for

Dismantling white, male supremacy one word at a time.