XOXO

What Women Really Want In a Relationship

Women and femmes tell how they finally figured out what they really want in a relationship

Feminista Jones
ZORA
Published in
11 min readApr 15, 2020

--

A photo of a black couple making faces at each other.
Photo: Tara Moore/Getty Images

WWhen I turned 40, I was as single as a dollar bill and was perfectly fine with it. I was intentional about not getting involved in any romantic situations because I was committed to healing and personal growth after having had another relationship end. After compromising and settling for less than what I deserved over and over, I realized part of the problem was that I wasn’t exactly sure what I wanted from a romantic partner. As my relationships ended, I was able to make notes about what I did not want, but I hadn’t focused enough attention on what I not only wanted but absolutely needed in a romantic partnership. How can I communicate with a potential partner about my desires if I’m not even sure what I’m seeking from them?

During a recent conversation with a 46-year-old divorced friend, I bristled when he said, “Women don’t know what they want.” I was ready to fight, but we actually had a revealing conversation instead, one that reminded me of conversations I’ve had with other somewhat disillusioned men. He was most frustrated by his recent conversations with women on dating apps, and I know he needed to vent — the struggle is real.

--

--

Feminista Jones
ZORA
Writer for

She/Her | Author, Activist. Philly-based, NYC-bred. #ReclaimingOurSpace Twitter/IG: @FeministaJones FeministaJones.com/contact for inquiries