What Is Yoga Without the Namaste?

I found my happy place in a space free of microaggressions

L'Oreal Thompson Payton
ZORA

--

Illustration: Astrid Caballeros

DDuring the opening circle of the Starshine & Clay Retreat, the founder, Octavia Raheem, instructed the more than 40 Black and brown women assembled at Mandala Hall on Bald Mountain in Sautee Nacoochee, Georgia, to simply breathe. Eyes closed, legs crossed, and bottoms planted firmly on the ground, we exhaled. And with that collective whoosh, it felt as though we were releasing the weight of the world.

It wasn’t my first yoga class for women of color, but it was the first time I’d exhaled out loud in a yoga class, for fear of being too loud or too much. But that weekend, we managed to carve out a safe space for ourselves to just be. Here, in this circle, with our sisters, we were the embodiment of #BlackGirlMagic.

In sharing her reasoning for creating the retreat, Raheem has said: “I needed a place to both affirm my wholeness and practice being well in my body and soul; I needed a place that felt like home to do that. A place where I don’t need to worry ‘bout the small things, like my edges.”

I knew exactly what she meant. Back home in Chicago, I was accustomed to making myself smaller at the yoga studios populated by mostly thin white women. In fact, there was an older white woman in one of my Pilates classes…

--

--

L'Oreal Thompson Payton
ZORA
Writer for

L’Oreal is a freelance writer and editor who’s dedicated to uplifting and inspiring Black women and girls through storytelling. Learn more at LTintheCity.com.