Photo: halbergman/Getty Images

This City Is A Multiracial Mecca

Hint: It’s not where you might expect

Kristal Brent Zook
ZORA
Published in
12 min readSep 23, 2019

--

“Black. Ivory. Shadow.”

I repeat the words to make sure I heard them right.

“Black. Ivory… Shadow?”

“Yeah.” Jasmin Baker, 25, is cracking up.

“When I was younger I made it my thing.” She lowers her voice, making it seductive. “Like… yeah. I’m black ivory shadow.”

“Right.” Now her boyfriend, Grant Wyena, 28, is laughing too. “Real dark and mysterious.”

We’re at the Evergreen Café in downtown Tacoma, Washington early one July morning where they’ve agreed to talk to me about multiracial identity in Tacoma. Unlike many places in America, this is a city where Baker and Wyena can stroll along the Tacoma waterfront hand-in-hand and not be seen as the least bit unusual.

Baker identifies as African-American, although her great-grandmother was Irish, and Wyena’s family is enrolled in the Yakima band of nations. He comes from both Muckleshoot and Wanapum descent, as well as additional Native Canadian tribes on his mother’s side. His father is from Tijuana, Mexico. He identifies as both Native American and Hispanic.

“I only bring it up when people ask me, ‘What are you?’” says Baker. “I say, ‘I’m Black.’ Then when they’re not satisfied…

--

--

Kristal Brent Zook
ZORA
Writer for

Award-winning journalist/professor; race, women, justice. My latest book is #1 in New Releases for Mixed Race/Multiracial! Order @ thegirlintheyellowponcho.com