The Courage to Say No, Without the Guilt

How I’ve learned to navigate sex on my own terms

Madhuri Sastry
ZORA

--

Credit: oneinchpunch/Getty Images

SSome time ago, my partner was feeling frisky. I wasn’t. We’d been in the midst of a dry spell, and I was hyperaware of it. But I was exhausted and all I wanted to do was sleep. My husband respected my decision — no begging, no insisting. And yet, I was consumed with guilt.

“I can… service you?” I offered my husband, a coquettish eyebrow raised.

He looked horrified.

“I’m not a car…” he pointed out, accurately.

“But… it’s been a while since we…” I struggled to find some sexy talk. “Lay… as man and wife…” I ventured.

He looked horrified.

“Okay, are you from the ’50s? I think you should sleep,” he said, kissing me and falling asleep instantly.

But guilt kept me up for a long time, and eventually, I became angry with myself. It wasn’t the first time I had felt shitty about saying no to sex. Not for nothing: I have a strong mother, one who would be alarmed that I was even validating the idea of consent by guilt. I live in New York, and am not as submerged in toxic desi culture as I used to be. (The toxicity is different here. I learned the phrase “If you don’t put out, someone else will ¯\_(ツ)_/¯” on one of the Housewives

--

--

Madhuri Sastry
ZORA
Writer for

Feminist. Writer. Intl Human Rights Law. She/Her Read my stuff: www.thechicksandbalances.com