The Beauty of Attending an Islamic Boarding School in the United States

Despite rampant Islamophobia, there is so much in the Qur’an that is waiting to be (re)discovered

Tasmiha Khan
ZORA

--

Illustration: Nashra Balagamwala

TThe room was split up according to different noise levels and tunes. To my right, younger girls were reciting somewhat in unison. In the rest of the room, the older girls were memorizing different portions of the Qur’an in euphony. If someone were to hear some of these girls from a distance, it was a beautiful, muffled tune. I never was really able to discern where the most beautiful of these sounds came from exactly. However, sometimes I would be able to distinguish one or two voices, and later I became mesmerized by their imitations of the different scholars they chose to emulate.

This all took place in the masjid, place of worship, of a boarding school, the Institute of Islamic Education (IIE), located in the suburbs of Chicago, IL. It emitted a ray of inspiration for me, to revere and learn the Qur’an. This was a significant time for me given that I started feeling Islamophobic sentiments beginning as a middle schooler.

As my foot sank into the dark green and maroon carpet of the masjid, the serenity engulfed me. It was restricted to us girls except during Friday prayers along with the night prayers known as…

--

--

Tasmiha Khan
ZORA
Writer for

Muslim American Bengali freelance journalist. Words in National Geographic, VICE, Business Insider, MTV, Newsweek, Refinery29, and Salon among others.