Preserving Black Cultural History: Our Kingdom on the Nile

Tai Salih E-RYT® 500, YACEP® (she/her)
ZORA
Published in
5 min readJul 8, 2023

--

From my early years, I nurtured a profound reverence for my cultural history, a connection that remains unshakeable even after being uprooted from our homes during the second civil war, sparked by a tyrant military dictator’s illegal coup.

After enduring 30 years of authoritarian rule, which finally ended in 2019 due to months of popular protests, a new generation was ignited with a desire to embrace and be inspired by our history. Among the resounding chants by the protesters were tributes to the Kushite rulers of ancient times: “My grandfather is Tirhaka! My grandmother is a Kandake!”

We carry royal blood…

However, despite this unwavering commitment to sharing Sudan’s cultural heritage, I now witness the unfolding violence with a heavy heart. The people of Sudan have suffered for months, caught in the crosshairs of power-hungry individuals seeking to impose their distorted and vile regimes. Each passing day, I witness the erosion of our legacy and history, consumed by thoughts of my trapped family, my suffering community, and the imminent loss of our culture and heritage.

We find ourselves trapped in a toxic cycle of instability driven by greed and an insatiable thirst for power. Lives are being lost, yet the global community remains disturbingly silent. Meanwhile…

--

--

Tai Salih E-RYT® 500, YACEP® (she/her)
ZORA
Writer for

Non-profit Founder @redmaat_collective | Integrative Counsellor @redmaat_healing | Social justice, writer, yogi @red_maat