Men Forgetting Basic Details Isn’t Funny

Vena Moore
ZORA
Published in
5 min readAug 25, 2023

--

Men forgetting your birthday or anniversary isn’t funny or cute. It points to something deeper.

Photo by CDC on Unsplash

So, I recently completed a trip around the sun where I aged another year. It’s a privilege I cherish greatly as it’s not granted to everyone. I also make it a point to always celebrate my birthday as I descend from a people that in generations past, were denied their ability to celebrate theirs.

During slavery, the enslaved usually were not advised of their dates of birth to strip them of their individuality in every way possible. They often were only able to mark their birthday by the season in which they were born or the time of year they harvested the crop their enslavers made them grow. In celebrating my birthday, I honor those ancestors who couldn’t properly celebrate theirs.

Men Are Clueless About Basic Details Of Their Loved Ones Lives

However, there is one detail about my birthday that usually has me peeved. My father rarely acknowledges mine. I can’t remember the last time he called to wish me a happy birthday. He’s technologically challenged, so his emailing or texting me the sentiment will never happen. I’m not even sure he remembers when my birthday is. If high school classmates who I never see or speak to can take 30 seconds out of their day to wish…

--

--

Vena Moore
ZORA
Writer for

Dismantling white, male supremacy one word at a time.