Jasmine Guillory Is the Reigning Queen of Romance Novels

And she’s back with another scorcher

L'Oreal Thompson Payton
ZORA
Published in
4 min readJul 12, 2019

--

Courtesy of Jasmine Guillory

TToni Morrison once tweeted, “If there’s a book you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” And it’s safe to say New York Times best-selling author Jasmine Guillory has done just that.

Hailing from Oakland, California, the avid reader and baker has dominated the lit scene with her modern romance novels, The Wedding Date and its follow-up, The Proposal. And with The Wedding Party, her highly anticipated third book dropping July 16, Guillory shows zero signs of slowing down.

To learn more, we chatted with Guillory about the radical notion of centering Black women’s stories and what’s on her summer reading list.

This interview has been edited and condensed for clarity.

ZORA: My friends and I love your books and we also subscribe to your newsletter where you share some incredible recipes, so I have to ask: what came first, your love for books or baking?

Jasmine Guillory: Definitely books. I started reading as a very little girl and I’ve loved books ever since. I taught myself how to bake from my mom’s cookbooks, so…

--

--

L'Oreal Thompson Payton
ZORA
Writer for

L’Oreal is a freelance writer and editor who’s dedicated to uplifting and inspiring Black women and girls through storytelling. Learn more at LTintheCity.com.