The ZORA CoSign

Love, Poetry, and Prose: This Creator Uses Poetry to Express Herself

Get to know poet and writer Michele Thomas

Adrienne Gibbs
ZORA
Published in
2 min readFeb 9, 2021

--

The ZORA CoSign is both a CoSign and an introduction. We celebrate writers
#onhere who unapologetically tell the story, write the poem, paint the picture, and inspire the masses. They also expand and enhance our Medium community.

Michele Thomas is a multifaceted writer who swings between publishing personal blogs and beautiful poetry. She’s written at least 50 poems on Medium. This particular piece, “A Heart Blooms Once More,” struck me with its simplicity. Lots of people write long pieces #onhere, but I rather enjoyed the short, peacefulness of a wonderful poem.

Here is a portion of it:

Eyes like moonlight’s glow
Lit up my darkness
A smile sweeter than honey
Bitterness turned to joy…

On why she writes:

I believe writing is one of the talents given to me at birth. I write because I believe it’s a calling from God. My writing crosses multiple genres, from religion to politics, everyday life, and nature. I wrote my first poem while visiting my great grandmother in…

--

--

Adrienne Gibbs
ZORA
Writer for

Director of Content @Medium. Award-winning journalist. Featured in a Beyoncé reel. Before now? EBONY, Netflix, Sun-Times, Miami Herald, Boston Globe.