The Workplace Whisperer

Introducing the Workplace Whisperer

Office advice for women of color who know that leaning in doesn’t always work

Julia Locklear
ZORA
Published in
5 min readDec 16, 2019

--

Photo: Thomas Barwick/Getty Images

Hi, ZORA readers. In future columns, I will be answering your questions about confronting the different “-isms” at work. But for today’s column, I’m going to first talk about why we are here.

Intimidating. Abrasive. Unapproachable. Negative. Aggressive. Combative. Bitch.

These are but a handful of words that have been used to describe me at various points in my career. I was once told that I was making my boss look stupid by asking him questions in a meeting about a process he wanted to implement but couldn’t explain. He went on to tell me that I was a “college professor,” but what they really needed for my job was a “third-grade teacher.” Imagine my surprise when he declined to promote me and increase my salary so both would be in alignment with my true (over)qualifications and performance. Instead, he and several others in leadership waged a campaign to discredit me and force me out by relegating me to the sidelines, reporting to someone who had no understanding or appreciation for my role or skills.

I learned a tough lesson then. A high profile job, an excellent network of powerful women, and my expertly executed…

--

--