I’m Learning

I’m Learning to Let Shit Go

Losing something important to me gave me the strength to move past my trauma

Jolie A. Doggett
ZORA
Published in
4 min readFeb 19, 2021

--

Black woman looking out the window with a forlorn expression.
Photo: Robin Gentry/EyeEm/Getty Images

So I think I have a ghost in my apartment.

I started noticing it almost immediately upon moving in. I would hear noises coming from the ceiling as though someone was walking around up there. (I live on the top floor. No one is above me.) Doors in my apartment would open and close on their own (I live alone). None of the clocks in my apartment ever read the same time no matter how many times I reset them (including the digital clocks on the oven and microwave!).

But the scariest and most annoying phenomenon is that items in my home have mysteriously gone missing. Since the day I’ve moved in, household items have disappeared in ways I can’t explain. I’ve gone from having five plates to three. Socks and underwear that I’ve had for years are vanishing into thin air. I’ve even had a whole pillow just disappear!

Most of these occurrences had been spooky yet small inconveniences until something went missing that was very important to me: a ring. A 14-karat gold diamond ring that I’ve had since I was eight years old.

I’m learning to let go of the material things, and the emotional weight I…

--

--

Jolie A. Doggett
ZORA
Writer for

writer | editor | reader | podcaster | people person | (i used to work here ☺️)