I May Never Be Ready to Fully Embrace My Natural Hair

I’m also officially done feeling guilty about it.

Shannon Hilson
ZORA

--

Photo by Miriam Alonso from Pexels

“I’m actually surprised you never decided to get on board with the natural hair movement. You’re one of the strongest, most authentic women I know, so I would have thought you’d be one of the first.” That’s something a female friend of color said to me not all that long ago.

We were having a casual discussion over Facebook about hairstyles and why people (especially black women like my friend or biracial women like me) might choose one option over another. She has stunning, all-natural afro-textured hair that she cares for meticulously and chooses to wear in a variety of different styles. She is also one of the most enviably beautiful women I know.

Yet, as beautiful and inspiring as I find my friend for choosing to celebrate her hair exactly as it grows out of her head, I’ve never seriously considered doing the same.

I’ve asked myself why quite a few times since that conversation and thought long and hard about the reasons I came up with. And, while I’ve realized I no longer see my bushy, curly biracial hair as “bad hair” the way I did when I was still just a kid, I can’t say with any honesty that I’ve learned to love it exactly the way it is, either.

--

--

Shannon Hilson
ZORA

Pro copywriter and blogger. Midjourney enthusiast. Avid storyteller. She-wolf. | Email: bellingthecat@gmail.com | Links: https://linktr.ee/shannonhilson