I Hate Christmas. Here’s Why I’m Celebrating It for the Next 2 Months.

The saddest Christmas ever turned me against the holiday; the hardest year ever has made me look forward to it

Elisabeth Ovesen | NYT Bestselling Author
ZORA

--

Photo: Klaus Vedfelt/Getty Images

I must have been 12 the year I decided to hate Christmas for the rest of my life. I awoke that particular Christmas morning to the sound of my two younger sisters already ripping the wrapping paper from their gifts. They shouted with delight and awe upon seeing what Santa had brought them that year. They still believed in Claus, with one being just five and the other four. But by 12 years old, I knew where our presents came from — the uncles. You know, the uncles you just met for the first time, the ones who aren’t related to anyone in your family, and who sleep over in mommy’s bed at night?

Right.

I must have had six uncles that year, so I figured Christmas was going to be sweet. Exuberantly, full of hope and whimsy, I hopped out of bed, into my robe, down the hall, and into the living room of our tiny two-bedroom apartment before plopping beside the Christmas tree. My sisters sat on the floor to my left while our mother perched just behind them, smiling as she watched over their shoulders, proud of what she had done.

--

--

Elisabeth Ovesen | NYT Bestselling Author
ZORA
Writer for

3x New York Times bestselling author, art enthusiast, and design girlie living between Los Angeles and New York City