I Hate Christmas. Here’s Why I’m Celebrating It for the Next 2 Months

ZORA Editors
ZORA
Published in
1 min readDec 25, 2020

--

Black mom and daughter hugging next to Christmas tree.
Photo: Klaus Vedfelt/Getty Images

While many of us are abandoning holiday traditions this year, ZORA writer Elisabeth Ovesen has decided to celebrate for the first time:

There’s a lot I have never celebrated or experienced. I have missed out on most of the memories many people have because of my disdain for holidays and fetes. I still remember what it’s like to be so excited and hopeful for a moment in time, only to have the moment dashed and my guts wrenched.

You know, the way 2020 has felt.

Surprisingly, now that my 42nd Christmas is just around the corner, I’ve been thinking. In a year when the option to fully celebrate holidays, birthdays, accomplishments, and the people in our lives has been taken from us, I suddenly feel like celebrating!

Read more about how a very hard year put this Grinch into the holiday spirit:

--

--