How I Was Guided to the First EVER Triple Jump Medal for an American Woman

Tori Franklin
ZORA
Published in
9 min readAug 17, 2022

--

A few weeks ago I accomplished a feat no other American woman has ever achieved. I am the first and ONLY American woman to medal in the triple jump in a World Championship competition. Six months ago if anyone told me I was going to do this, I’d look at them astounded, asking, pleading, wondering how I was going to make this happen. It took months of growing a deeper connection and learning to read the signs of the universe for me to see it for myself.

It would have been impossible to see or even fathom at the time. I was competing way below my potential, making jumps so shallow that I’m surprised I made the pit. But in April 2022, I took a grand leap of faith and pursued greatness.

After having two terrible showings on the World Stage (the Tokyo Olympics and the Serbia Indoor World Championships), I decided if I wanted to continue to have a worthwhile career in track and field, I needed to make some big changes.

After the Indoor World Championships in March, I talked to an old friend and coach about taking me as an athlete. He was hesitant at first, since it was the middle of the season, and not knowing how quickly I’d be able to adapt.

“Are you ready for this,” he asked in his thick Bulgarian accent.

--

--

Tori Franklin
ZORA

Olympic Triple Jumper. World Championship Medalist. Public Speaker on Mental Health and Dream Chasing. Non- Profit Founder. AUTHOR!!!