Hold the Trauma: I’m in the Market for a Silly, Sexy Black Rom-Com

It’s Valentine’s week, so I plan to watch a lot of Black love

Adrienne Gibbs
ZORA

--

From “Jumping the Broom.” Photo: Sony Pictures Entertainment

I recently got a Valentine’s Day press release from a movie company that asked me to write about the romantic comedies in the company’s roster. They offered a list of the “most popular” lovey-dovey films of the 1990s and 2000s. And while I enjoyed 50 First Dates, snorted in laughter during There’s Something About Mary, and my heart ached for Sleepless in Seattle, what I found missing from the lists provided were the Black films.

It got me to wondering how they determined “popular.”

Now, Hitch was on the list. And so was Crazy Rich Asians. Both excellent, exciting films. They deserve to be on the list. But I wish that when publicists send out these ideas that they would include more than the token Black and token Asian films. If we’re talking rom-coms, then where was The Best Man, Jumping the Broom, or even a Christmas hit like Queen Latifah’s Last Holiday?

In fact, with The Best Man now headed to serial TV territory, it would have been a good play to offer up the film to watch on Valentine’s Day weekend to get viewers ready for the upcoming series. “Brush up on your Black love.” Something like that. But nope—instead, we got the typical rom-coms that make…

--

--

Adrienne Gibbs
ZORA
Writer for

Director of Content @Medium. Award-winning journalist. Featured in a Beyoncé reel. Before now? EBONY, Netflix, Sun-Times, Miami Herald, Boston Globe.