Have Mercy: Chloe Bailey Deserves Grace

Ivylockewrites
ZORA
Published in
5 min readApr 17, 2023

--

We need to start making space for young Black women to grow and evolve.

Photo Source: Unsplash via Houcine Ncib

When I first came across Chloe x Halle, I was delighted with what I found. Here are two beautiful young ladies who are literally sisters, naturally talented, and under the legendary tutelage of the queen of mainstream music, Beyonce Knowles. I mean, what’s not to love, right?!

As time passed, I learned more about them, got acquainted with their impressive acting chops on Grownish, and even saw them perform at the On The Run II tour. As a lover of music and Black women, I was so excited to follow their art and journeys as they matured and came into their own. But, unfortunately, many others don’t seem to share those sentiments.

Growing Pains

Although I was fully prepared for the duo to go their separate ways at some point, I think Halle’s role in the remake of The Little Mermaid hastened the split. As new Disney royalty, Halle has to have a somewhat ‘good girl’ image, and with Chloe becoming more sexually expressive, I think they simply chose to give each other the space and time to try new things.

Otherwise, Chloe’s choices may have been used against Halle, which, as we’ve seen with groups like Xscape, would have likely caused a rift between the two for years to come. So, although I was…

--

--

Ivylockewrites
ZORA
Writer for

They call me “the voice of the people,” but I can only speak for myself. Find "Everything Ivy" here >> https://linktr.ee/IvyLockeWrites