I Never Thought I’d Have to Fight Infertility and a Pandemic

I was already struggling to get pregnant. Then a pandemic hit.

Reniqua Allen
ZORA

--

A troubled black woman sits at the edge of her bed.
Photo: Adene Sanchez/Getty Images

FFor months, I have felt like my future was uncertain. Panic attacks were routine. Tears, a daily event. Anger, mixed with doubt, fear, and sometimes a little bit of hope, filled my body. I seemed to have no control over the thing I wanted most in the world, and it felt like there was nothing I could do about it. Month after month, my body kept confirming that rejection, and month after month, I cried until my tears ran dry, trying to accept and live with the unknown while accepting the current reality: I may never be able to become pregnant.

And then Covid-19 was thrust into the world. By the time the virus hit New York City, those uncontrollable feelings had tripled. The whole world was now in a panic, and the word “uncertainty” became a part of my daily vocabulary and everyone else’s. Life spun out of control, and no one knew what the future held. My problems with trying to create life suddenly felt small as the world’s focus turned to preserving life. Suddenly it seemed like everyone was facing a reality that was out of their control.

TTwo weeks ago, I walked into a midtown fertility clinic, panicked about the decision I had to make. I was about to start my first treatment for IVF after…

--

--