Crown Royal on Ice: All the Ways to Love the Purple Bag

Bobby pins, green rollers, and Hot Wheels — what do YOU keep in your purple velvet bag?

afrobella
ZORA

--

Illustration: Olivia Fields

Many alcohol brands are collectable and covetable, but can you name one better known and beloved for its accessories than Crown Royal? When I asked my parents about Crown, they didn’t know the brand’s name. But when I said “the purple bag” there was instant recognition.

“Oh yeah! We have some on the bar right now,” was my dad’s response. Knowing him as I do, that bag has already been earmarked for another purpose. I learned from the best. Recycling and upcycling is what we do. It’s in the blood. That bag will most likely wind up in his tool shed, a cozy haven for screwdrivers or nails. If I still lived at home, that bag might have already been spirited away up to my room for some purpose yet to be determined. Purple has always been my favorite color. And come on, who doesn’t love a chic little purple bag with gold thread? And it’s velvet!

Long before Jilly from Philly sang about Crown Royal on ice, or I could even understand what she was talking about, long before I was legally allowed to sip a Canadian blended whiskey cocktail, I knew and wanted Crown Royal in my life. Just because of that iconic bag.

Crown Royal knows the…

--

--

afrobella
ZORA
Writer for

Beauty, hair and culture writer. One of WWD's 50 Most Influential People in the Multicultural Market. Often called the Godmother of Brown Beauty Blogging!