Color Me Conflicted

The Color Purple Reboot Sounds Nice in Theory, but…

Ivylockewrites
ZORA

--

Photo 66419179 | Color Purple © Jakub Gojda | Dreamstime.com

The Color Purple reboot is officially in theaters.

Loaded with superstars, singers, and Black girl magic, normally, this is the type of film I would be running to watch at break-neck speed.

Unfortunately, all I feel about this film is conflicted. This is for several reasons, which I will discuss in detail below.

Ready? Let's get into it…

First Thing's First

I’ve been told I need my "Black card" revoked for this, but I’ve never actually watched the original film. You heard that right: Ivy Locke has never seen The Color Purple in its entirety.

This is for a few reasons. First of all, I'm the youngest of three. So, while I was exposed to many things that were too mature for my age bracket, I regularly picked and chose what I consumed.

The Color Purple never really did it for me. I prefer to watch films that include thriving Black women or at least films that entertain and have…

--

--

Ivylockewrites
ZORA
Writer for

They call me “the voice of the people,” but I can only speak for myself. Find "Everything Ivy" here >> https://linktr.ee/IvyLockeWrites