‘Bridgerton’ Still Idealizes Whiteness

I enjoy it but have mixed feelings about the hit Netflix show

Ruth Terry
ZORA

--

Photos courtesy of Netflix.

Spoiler alert: This essay contains spoilers.

I’ve been into period drama films since I was a kid. Classics like Amadeus and Pride and Prejudice were in hot rotation in my house because they were something we could all enjoy. The sweeping cinematography in European locales fed my creativity and wanderlust. My mom, a sewist, loved the exquisite costumes while my screenwriter dad enjoyed the rich dialogue. They both also liked the way most period dramas affirmed “Christian” virtues like chastity and traditional gender roles. Eventually, I came to realize how much they also virtuized Whiteness.

With its racy sex scenes and soapy subplots, no one would accuse Bridgerton, the richly realized and diversely cast Regency drama streaming on Netflix, of doing the former. But for all the hoopla surrounding its inclusive casting, I’m not convinced it avoids doing the latter.

For the uninitiated, Bridgerton’s main storyline is the first-fake-then-real romance between debutante Daphne Bridgerton and Simon Basset, Duke of Hastings, with Gossip Girl-style narration and side intrigues to keep things spicy. Daphne, the “diamond” of the season’s marriage market, is White and wants kids. Simon is Black and “can’t” have…

--

--

Ruth Terry
ZORA
Writer for

American freelancer in Istanbul writing about culture, mental health, race & travel. Bylines everywhere from Al Jazeera to Zora. Tw: @Ruth_Terry | IG: @ruth.ist