Black Women Are Reclaiming Their Identity Through ‘Covid Cuts’

Hair can be both a political statement and a statement of convenience

afrobella
ZORA

--

Black woman shaving her hair, with a peaceful expression.
Photo: Masego Morulane/Getty Images

There’s a popular Coco Chanel quote: “A woman who cuts her hair is ready to change her life.” Oft repeated, but for good reason. A big chop can be a great way to announce to the universe that you’re ready for a life shift. But what does a big chop signify in times like these when life has shifted? For months now I’ve been observing my salon-dependent friends go through the pandemic, sharing their hair and beauty struggles online. Some have leaned into the times and learned to do their own braids or twists through online tutorials. Many have chosen to just big chop and rock a teeny weenie Afro instead. And now a trio of celebrities have made their big chop the main story.

Comedian Tiffany Haddish cut off her loc extensions and shaved her head on Instagram Live, explaining, “I cut all my hair off cause I want to see my scalp. I know my whole body. I know where every mole is, but I don’t know my scalp.” Respected journalist Melissa Harris Perry chopped off her hair as a deliberate symbol of fearlessness and cited civil rights legend Rep. John Lewis as part of her inspiration. “Rep. Lewis makes me want to be courageous again. So I started with something small but scary for me. I got rid of my hair. Then…

--

--

afrobella
ZORA
Writer for

Beauty, hair and culture writer. One of WWD's 50 Most Influential People in the Multicultural Market. Often called the Godmother of Brown Beauty Blogging!