Billionaire Tyler Perry Continues to Promote Struggle Love to Black Women

Tyler Perry was never on our side…

Ivylockewrites
ZORA

--

Photo Souce: Wikimedia

So far, I have mostly avoided making public statements about my thoughts on the machine that is Tyler Perry. Indeed, one reason is that I see how so many Black people love his work. And, here and there, I have enjoyed his work as well.

The Family That Preys, Why Did I Get Married?, and Temptation: Confessions of a Marriage Counselor are straight classics in my eyes. Also, due to my religious upbringing and fascination with cults, I also love his show Ruthless.

But if you're perceptive enough, you've already noticed that none of my faves are projects that include Madea. This is not by accident; as someone who vividly remembers having a family member whom we also called Madea (who has long since passed away,) I was immediately offended by his portrayal of the Black matriarch.

I'm not one to judge, but the gun-toting, chronic-smoking, belligerent woman he's portraying has never been one I could relate to. I came from women of class and ones who created means where there were none, man or no man.

--

--

Ivylockewrites
ZORA
Writer for

They call me “the voice of the people,” but I can only speak for myself. Find "Everything Ivy" here >> https://linktr.ee/IvyLockeWrites