Audre Lorde Taught Us to Honor Our Differences

In a new anthology, the iconic writer reminds us liberation requires valuing all Black lives, not just those who mirror our own experiences

Charlene Carruthers
ZORA

--

Black and white photo of Audre Lorde in 1983.
Audre Lorde. Photo: Jack Mitchell/Getty Images

My first encounters with Audre Lorde were superficial. I read and heard her quoted across the internet and during speeches at protests. I saw words on everything from T-shirts to memes and poster boards. Then I read her work. I went deeper into her life as a mother, lover of women, intellectual, and activist. I read Sister Outsider. I sat with each line of Litany for Survival. I read work with her DNA in it, including Janet Mock’s memoir, Surpassing Certainty. The book’s title and epigraph are Lorde’s words.

Lorde’s work challenges me to become more certain of my personal responsibility to a collective struggle for liberation. She beckons me to see myself as a complex person who deserves care as a revolutionary act. She tells me that as a woman, I am powerful and dangerous.

Her poetry, prose, memoir, oration, and activism organize my thinking and doing. With the release of a new anthology, The Selected Works of Audre Lorde, edited by Roxane Gay, Lorde continues to agitate, an art all good organizers perfect. Lorde, who died in 1992 at the age of 58, agitates me into making informed…

--

--