I Don’t Always Love My Kinky, Coily Hair, but I’m Trying

My cotton crown blooms coiled antennas, each having the individuality of snowflakes

Sylene "SylJoe" Joseph
ZORA

--

A photo of the author’s natural hair.
An up-close look at my tightly coiled natural hair. Photos: Sylene Joseph

TThese past few years have been empowering for dark-skinned women, especially for those of us with hair that’s as difficult to love as it is to comb. Today, our melanin is celebrated, the naps on our scalp that we were once pressured to relax are now a crowning glory. Black girls have been deemed magical, and we are finally being embraced in mainstream media as beautiful in both appearance and character.

But there are still days when reality sets in, at least for me.

There are days when I overhear conversations between Black men admitting their preference has been and always will be someone with light skin. There are days when there are not enough makeup shades available that can hide my hyperpigmentation. There are days when I’m tired of wearing my hair in a bun atop my head and want to let it all down, but I can’t. My hair doesn’t do that.

I want my hair to be easier! Easier to style, easier to maintain, easier to touch, easier to manipulate, easier to love.

--

--