My Pen Is Mighty

5 Reasons Why My Latest Obsession is Netflix’s ‘Young, Famous & African’ — And Why You Should Be Watching It, Too

Audarshia Townsend
ZORA
5 min readApr 1, 2022

--

MOSA HLOPHE/NETFLIX

I was recently getting my hair done when my stylist suddenly asked, “Hey, have you seen Young, Famous & African yet?” Curious, I told him to turn it on, and for the next few hours I was gleefully glued to Netflix.

The popular streaming network assembled one of the most glamorous groups of Black folks I’ve seen in a long time for its first-ever African reality series. You feel like you’re along for the ride with them as they hit all the hot spots in Johannesburg. From the no-nonsense Khanyi Mbau (shown above), a South African businesswoman, actress, and media personality, to flamboyant Nigerian celebrity stylist Swanky Jerry, these elite African scenesters are now a global sensation.

While Young, Famous & African showcases a rarely seen side of young professionals from the Motherland, I do wish that it was more substantive with its content during the seven episodes. South Africa is at the top of my bucket list, and it would have been nice to see more of its culture weaved into storylines.

There were missed opportunities to spotlight South African fashion designers, chefs, musicians, artists, alcoholic beverage brand owners, and so many more. For…

--

--

Audarshia Townsend
ZORA
Writer for

Audarshia Townsend is a Chicago-based journalist who writes about how food & beverages impact the culture and industry. Email: Audarshia@townsendmediamagic.com